Pilot Iroshizuku Yama-Budo – Ink Review #5

TL;DR

It’s nice, but it’s not my favourite. I may have liked it more if I didn’t spill it all over my lap and have magenta stained thighs for a day. It also, for some reason, performs terribly on Sanzen Tomoe River, but it does seem to be isolated to that paper. It is an excellent choice for extra-fine nibs in general though.

General Description

Pilot Iroshizuku Yama-Budo is a magenta coloured ink with gold-green sheen.

In Writing

Tomoe River (Sanzen):

For some reason Yama-Budo and TR don’t get on. I would brush it off as hand oils if not for the fact it behaved the exact same way on another sheet of TR. It bleeds so much. I guess it’s just extremely wet for only 52gsm to take.

Endless Regalia:

Once again, my favourite performance. I think Regalia paper shows ink qualities so well. Halo sheen appears in all nib sizes and some subtle shading is visible.

Rhodia:

The only sheen appears in the dots of ‘i’s and there’s a tiny amount of halo on some letters.

Water-resistance is mediocre. You could recover your writing, but it might take a bit of effort in some areas, especially if the water has been on there for a while.

In Art

This is an absolutely gorgeous ink to paint and draw with, provided you’re having a good drawing day. If you’re not, you get the monstrosity I created on the right. But that’s not the inks fault. Hopefully the left gives you an idea of how stunning this ink can truly be.


Posted

in

,

by

Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started