Robert Oster Schwarze Rose – Ink Review #7

TL;DR

I’m feeling a bit meh about this one for writing. I think I just have something against Robert Oster’s shimmer inks as I find they tend to feel dry and clog my pens. The colour is beautiful though, and even moreso when painted with.

General Description

Robert Oster Schwarze Rose is a dark green ink with rose gold shimmer. It’s available in a 50ml bottle as part of RO’s Shake ‘N’ Shimmy line. I used a sample.

In Writing

Tomoe River (Sanzen):

Performs well on TR. The shimmer shows up nicely, but it feels so dry to write with. I find it really unpleasant.

Endless Regalia:

Just look at that swatch! Absolutely stunning! One of the wonderful properties of Regalia paper is that it makes dry inks feel nicer to write with, so this is the only paper I’d choose to use this ink on.

Rhodia

Still pretty, but feels unpleasant, especially in the smaller nib sizes. There is still plenty shimmer though and I would say that this is an ink that looks just as good on Rhodia as other papers.

Water-resistance is low. Although there is a shadow left behind, it’s too fuzzy to recover your writing from it. It’s very pretty though, lifting to a surprising pink colour.

In Art

The chromatography is stunning. I was shocked to see such pinks, purples, and blues. I was expecting predominantly greys and greens. And the shimmer works so beautifully with it. Schwarze Rose has everything you need to convince someone to try painting with ink. Big recommend in this department.


Posted

in

,

by

Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started